DIY Princess Crown – Cinderella

It’s Wednesday! This means it’s time for this challenge. Today’s theme book was Cinderella. So, I thought of just being the wicked stepmom all day and blogging about how that went. But, we need more smiles in this world, so I opted for the princess crown instead.

I like to crochet, but you could use a piece of lace for your crown instead. I made a quick headband in my favourite colour wool (basically: chain 3, do 3 half double crochets in the first chain, and then repeat until it is the right length. Then, sew the edges together to make a ring).

I don’t have clothes stiffener / starch in my house (mainly because I’m still trying to figure out where we keep the iron and how to turn the washing machine on). So, if you’re like me, add 1 tablespoon of Maizena / corn starch to 1/2 cup cold water and mix. Then, add that to 1/2 cup of boiling water in a small pot on the stove. Stir like mad, and it soon becomes a thick gel. Leave that to cool, then dip the crown in there, coating it well with the gel. Wipe off any excess starch.

Then, place the crown over an upside-down 1-litre yoghurt container (I recommend putting clingwrap around the container first so that the crown doesn’t stick). Leave it to dry. And there you have it!

From left to right: crocheted band, starch mixture, leaving the band to stiffen overnight, a very happy princess
From left to right: crocheted band, starch mixture, leaving the band to stiffen overnight, a very happy princess

I love this idea as it’s so versatile. Use different colours and thicknesses of lace, or crochet just about any style. Use glittery spray paints, beads and embellishments to make yours really special.

That was my take on this week’s challenge. Be sure to check out what my fellow bloggers have done:

Just EllaBella
Ruth Abercrombie
My Spreadsheet Brain

6 thoughts on “DIY Princess Crown – Cinderella

Leave a Reply

