DIY Snow – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Okie dokes. Remember this challenge? So, this is week one, which means it’s my choice of children’s book, and I chose Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (mainly because I’m trying banting and can only think of chocolate right now).

When I think of CATCF, I think of humble Charlie’s humbler home.

Don't you feel cold just looking at it?
Don’t you feel cold just looking at it?

 

 

 

 

 

This inspired me to try out a cute DIY I saw on a friend’s Facebook page recently – homemade snow. Katie went through a range of emotions when I told her that we were going to make snow in the kitchen. Mainly, she was concerned about my mental health. Then, she went through the stages of denial (“um, you don’t make snow in a kitchen”) and then acceptance (“can I hand it out to other kids in the neighbourhood?”)

It was SUPER easy and even more successful.

snow diyYou’ll need:
1 can shaving cream
1 box (500g) bicarbonate of soda

Method:
Put the bicarb in a mixing bowl.
Add about two-thirds of the shaving cream and mix well.
You can add more if the texture isn’t quite right.
Have ridiculous amounts of fun with your snow.

My only regret is that we didn’t make more. Next time, I’ll use two or three boxes of bicarb, and maybe add some food colouring.

Remember to head on over to the other bloggers to see how they used the CATCF to get creative:

Ruth Abercrombie
My Spreadsheet Brain
Just EllaBella

************************

6 thoughts on “DIY Snow – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Leave a Reply

