Recipe: Cheat Sushi for Kids {ok, it just looks like sushi}

You wouldn’t have gotten me to touch sushi with my big toe when I was a young un. Well, probably not until I was 25, actually, but my palate is for another blog. Now, I LOVE sushi, and I tell Katie she loves it too. And she believes me. For those whose kids wouldn’t appreciate Nemo in a lunchbox, try this simple alternative. I got it from the Pick n Pay website and am dying to try it for my mother. I have a long way to go before I convince her about raw fish.

Ingredients:
2 cucumbers
1 tub cream cheese
1 red pepper, thinly sliced into 3cm long sticks
1 carrot, thinly sliced into 3cm long sticks
Cooked prawns
2 Tbsp black sesame seeds
Soy sauce and wasabi to server

Method:
Vegetable Rolls:
Slice a cucumber into ribbons using a vegetable peeler.
Spread one teaspoon of cream cheese onto each ribbon with.
Layer matchsticks of red and yellow pepper and carrots onto one end of each ribbon.
Roll tightly using the sticky cream cheese to enclose the vegetables.
Serve with soya sauce and wasabi.

Cucumber bites:
Cut a cucumber into 7 to 8 rounds, each about 5cm wide.
Use a melon baller to scoop out the seeds, leaving a layer of cucumber in the base round.
Spoon cream cheese into each cavity and use a knife to scrape flat with the edge.
Top each cucumber round with a cooked prawn (tail intact) and sprinkle with black sesame seeds. Serve with soya sauce and wasabi.

Thanks Pick ‘n Pay!

One thought on “Recipe: Cheat Sushi for Kids {ok, it just looks like sushi}

Leave a Reply

