Oh, Humble Egg

My mom felt it was important to explain to me exactly what I was eating. So, when I dove into what I thought was the creamy deliciousness of a nameless, faceless yellow sunshine, I was startled to hear that what I was, in fact, about to wolf down was nothing more than chicken placenta with a liberal dash of embryo.

In the immortal words of Garfield’s hapless victim, “hurk!”

 

 

 

 

 

It has taken a long time for me to wrap my head around eating eggs. But, they are treasure troves of nutrition and, now being the responsible mum that I am, I am obligated to set the example (I refuse to make “eggsample” puns). So, here are some of the reasons that the egg is now an almost daily visitor to my dinner plate:

1. It is SUPER nutritious. In addition to other trace nutrients, one boiled egg contains:
– Vitamin A: 6% of the RDA (Recommended Daily Allowance)
– Vitamin B5: 7% of the RDA
– Vitamin B12: 9% of the RDA
– Vitamin B2: 15% of the RDA
– Phosphorus: 9% of the RDA
– Folate: 5% of the RDA
– Selenium: 22% of the RDA
– They also have Vitamin D, E, K, and B6, as well as Calcium, Zinc and healthy fats that are essential for development.
– They contain choline, which is a often-neglected substance that is so important for producing signalling molecules in the brain and cell membranes. A whole egg has about 100mg of choline.
– And, of course, they are a rich source of Omega-3 fatty acids (very important for cognitive development and physical growth).

Nothing like some embryo to start the day
Nothing like some embryo to start the day

2. Kids dig them. I don’t know why, nor do I care. I just know that they love a healthy food source and I’m not about to stir the pot.

3. They are so versatile and so (SO) easy to prepare. Fried, scrambled, poached or boiled; they taste different each time and have a fabulous variety of applications in the kitchen.

4. They can be used to mask other ingredients. I love adding a bit of chopped mushroom and tomato into scrambled eggs and Katie hardly notices. This goes for fresh herbs and a sprinkling of cayenne pepper too, which can be difficult to incorporate into little ones’ diet sometimes.

5. They keep you fuller for longer. This is especially important when kids are at school and limited to the times at which they can eat.

6. They are quick to eat, so a boiled egg can be scoffed down quickly at break-time, without taking time away from playing.

One thought on “Oh, Humble Egg

Leave a Reply

